@LATechSports Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Class

June 15, 2017

RUSTON – Louisiana Tech Athletics announced its 2017 Hall of Fame Class today which includes two-time national champion quarterback Denny Duron, three-time conference Coach of the Year in the late Tommy Joe Eagles, Kodak All-American shooting guard Pam Gant, two-time Southland Conference Hitter of the Year Dale Holman, 13-year NFL veteran quarterback Luke McCown, 25-year sports information director Keith Prince and 11-year NFL veteran wide receiver Pat Tilley.

The seven-person class will be enshrined into the Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame during a ceremony held Saturday, Sept. 30 prior to the Bulldogs football game against South Alabama. More details on the exact time and location of the event will be released soon.

“Louisiana Tech has a tradition-rich history in athletics,” said Tech Athletics Director Tommy McClelland. “We feel as though this class exemplifies that as we have some of the great names in the history of Tech Athletics. We are so proud of this group collectively and as individuals. It will be a very special day, and we hope that all of our fans can make plans to come and celebrate the careers of these seven Hall of Famers.”

Duron (1970-73) led Louisiana Tech to a pair of small school national championships in 1972 and 1973 despite never playing a down prior to the 1972 season. During those two years, he led Tech to a 24-1 record while being named all-Southland Conference both seasons. He signed with the Birmingham Americans of the World Football League following his career at Tech.

Eagles (1967-71 player, 1979-89 coach) lettered for the Bulldogs for four years while leading the 1971 team to the Southland Conference title and the NCAA Tournament. He was a two-year team captain and was two-time academic all-conference. Following six years as an assistant coach under Andy Russo, Eagles took the reins of the program and led the Bulldogs to an 87-40 record and at least 20 wins in each of the four seasons, including two NCAA Tournaments and two NIT appearances.

Gant (1981-85) led the Lady Techsters to a combined mark of 125-10 during her four years with three Final Four appearances and the 1982 NCAA national championship. The sharp-shooting guard out of Joliet, Illinois shot 55 percent for her career while scoring 1,714 points. Her senior season saw her average 23.6 points and earn Kodak All-American honors. She was named a finalist for the 1985 Naismith Trophy as the nation’s top player.

Holman (1977-79) was a three-time all-Southland Conference selection and the two-time Southland Conference Hitter of the Year during his days with the Bulldogs. He led the Pat Patterson-coached Bulldogs to the 1978 Southland Conference title and an NCAA Tournament berth. Following his Tech career, he was drafted by the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1979 and spent nine years in the minors with the Dodgers, Toronto Blue Jays and Atlanta Braves organizations.

McCown (2000-2003) led Louisiana Tech into the Western Athletic Conference era as the record-setting four-year starter helped guide the Bulldogs to the 2001 WAC title and a Humanitarian Bowl appearance in the program’s first season in the league. A Freshman All-American in 2000, the three-time all-state honoree passed for more than 12,000 yards and 87 touchdowns in his college career. He was chosen in the 4th round of the 2004 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns and spent 13 seasons in the league with the Browns, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Jacksonville Jaguars, Atlanta Falcons and New Orleans Saints.

Prince (1969-94) spent a quarter of a century promoting Louisiana Tech Athletics, its coaches and student-athletes as the sports information director. During his time in Ruston, he covered the Golden Era of Bulldog football in the 1970s, the Lady Techsters three national championships, the Karl Malone era of Bulldog basketball and much more. He recorded a string of 283 consecutive football games (the longest in the nation at the time) while logging one of the longest tenures in the state of Louisiana among SIDs. He received the Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism from the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in 2004.

Tilley (1972-75) was a member of the 1972 and 1973 national championship teams and a two-time all-Southland Conference honoree. He led the Bulldogs in receiving in both 1974 and 1975 before being selected in the fourth round of the 1975 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Cardinals. During his 11-year NFL career with the Cardinals, he totaled more than 400 receptions for more than 7,000 yards and 75 touchdowns.

With the addition of these selections, the Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame will be at 100 members.

Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205