Athletics News
40 Student-Athletes Earn Academic All-WAC Honors



June 26, 2013

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech saw 25 of its spring sports student athletes earn Academic All-WAC honors while another 15 student-athletes earned Freshmen/Transfer Academic All-WAC honors which were released by the league office on Tuesday.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least at 3.00 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests.

The University saw a total of 68 of its student-athletes earn Academic All-WAC honors during the 2012-13 season, its last as a member of the Western Athletic Conference as LA Tech will make the all-sports move to Conference USA starting July 1.

The spring sports honorees included Kyle Arnsberg (baseball), Taylor Ashton (men's T&F), Taylor Burch (baseball), Josh Cox (men's T&F), Dakota Doss (baseball), Diamond Every (women's T&F), James Ferguson (baseball), Sam Forgan (golf), Janna Frandrup (softball), Janine Godwin (softball), Dacia Hale (softball), Michelle Jones (softball), Ryan Jones (baseball), Bre'shon Kimbell (baseball), Alayna Kipp (softball), Erin Kipp (softball), Meghan Knowles (softball), Amanda Krueger (softball), Jack Lempke (golf), Vivian ten Dolle (tennis), Taylor Terrasas (baseball), Melanie Urvoy (tennis), Micara Vassell (women's T&F), Travis Wilmore (golf) and Matthew Wolfe (men's T&F).

The freshmen/transfer honorees for the year included Anna Cross (softball), Manoela Chiacchio (tennis), Keely Davis (soccer), Tyler Ervine (baseball), Jon Greenwalt (football), Dalane Guidry (volleyball), Nicole Jaquemet (soccer), Emily Lantz (women's cross country), Laura LeFevour (soccer), Rosie Lethbridge (soccer), Taly Merker (tennis), Kristen Miles (softball), Mette Rudolfsen (soccer), Thomas Springer (men's T&F) and Erica Stewart (soccer).

Louisiana Tech's student-athletes continue to succeed in the classroom. Earlier this month, the NCAA released its latest Academic Progress Rates (APR) and LA Tech remained penalty free for the third straight year while four of the program's recorded their highest single year APR while seven of them saw their highest four-year APR.

Tech also saw Ray Holley (football) and Erin Kipp (softball) earn Capitol One CoSIDA Academic All-American honors this year.