Women Finish Fourth, Men Sixth at WAC Indoor Championships



Feb. 23, 2013

Complete Results |  Notes

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Louisiana Tech’s women’s track and field team finished fourth while the men finished six as action wrapped up at the Western Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships Saturday afternoon at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

The Lady Techsters won two gold medals on the final day of the championship meet and finished in fourth place overall as a team, scoring 95 points. Texas State won the women’s team title with 122 points scored.

The Bulldogs finished sixth overall with 48 points scored in the meet. UTSA won the overall men’s title with 159 points scored.

Kim Francis won the first gold medal of the day, running 8.36 in the 60m hurdles in the dominating win. Teammate Bianca Jackson finished in second with a time of 8.53 while Marlesia Carey placed seventh, running 8.87.

Kimberly Smith won the other gold medal on the day for Tech with a 60m dash finals time of 7.34. That win continued a streak of a Lady Techster winning the WAC gold medal in the 60m dash in every year since 2005. Tech also had runners finish 5-6-7-8 in the 60m dash finals in the following order: Brittany Walker (7.61), Charla Craddock (7.68), Kim Francis (7.68) and Victoria Wade (7.72).

Craddock was impactful all over the track on the final day of the meet, in addition to her fifth-place finish in the 60m. She also placed fourth in the 200m with a time of 24.31 and finished seventh in the triple jump with a mark of 38-8.35 (11.79m).



On the men’s side, Adairius Barnes joined the team in time for the WAC meet and finished fourth in the triple jump with a mark of 48-8.25 (14.84m).

The biggest upset of the day came in the 200m as Trey Hadnot, ranked first in the conference and fourth in the nation, was topped by UT Arlington’s Clayton Vaught. Vaught won the gold medal with a time of 20.86 while Hadnot ran 20.95 to win silver. Niko Richey followed with a fourth-place time of 21.23 while Dennis Richardson ran 21.54 to place seventh. Hadnot was also disqualified in the 400m dash finals.

Paul Sakit earned a pair of second team all-conference honors as he finished fourth in the 3,000m with a time of 8:48.90 and ran 4:21.10 in the mile to place sixth. Matt Wolfe followed Sakit in the mile with a seventh-place time of 4:22.12.

In the 60m dash, Dennis Richardson finished third with a time of 6.72 while Niko Richey ran 6.80 to place seventh. Kendall Hayes finished fourth in the 60m hurdles, running 8.17.

Alwayne Green concluded his collegiate career with a sixth-place finish in the 800m with a time of 1:56.26.

Athletes will now await the NCAA Championship qualification and descending order lists, to be announced prior to the NCAA Championships which will be held on March 8-9 in Fayetteville, Ark.

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field, please follow @LATechTandF on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.