Notes from WAC Championships

Feb. 25, 2012

Recap |  Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

Kim Francis won the 60m hurdles with a time of 8.44, marking the second straight year she has won the hurdles race. It marks the fourth consecutive year a Techster has won the gold medal in the 60m hurdles.

Trey Hadnot won the 400m with a personal best time of 47.84. Hadnot’s gold medal marks the third straight year Louisiana Tech has claimed gold in the event.

Dennis Richardson won the 60m dash as he tied his personal best time of 6.79. He is the first Bulldog since Michael Coleman in 2009 to win the event.

Chelsea Hayes win in the 60m dash (7.31) marked the eighth consecutive year a Lady Techster sprinter has won the gold medal in that event.

Chelsea Hayes finished sixth in the triple jump with a mark of 38-4.75 (11.70m). That is remarkable on two accounts: 1) She passed on all three finals attempts so she could run in the 60m dash finals and 2) She has not triple jumped since high school.

WAC Champions
Kim Francis (60m Hurdles)
Trey Hadnot (200m)
Trey Hadnot (400m)
Chelsea Hayes (60m)
Chelsea Hayes (200m)
Chelsea Hayes (Long Jump)
Dennis Richardson (60m)

First Team All-WAC
Kim Francis (60m Hurdles)
Josh Goree (400m)
Trey Hadnot (200m)
Trey Hadnot (400m)
Chelsea Hayes (60m)
Chelsea Hayes (200m)
Chelsea Hayes (Long Jump)
Kendall Hayes (60m Hurdles)
Dennis Richardson (60m)
Dennis Richardson (200m)
Micara Vassell (Shot Put)

Second Team All-WAC
Reyna Anderson (4x400m Relay)
Aldresha Bailey (400m)
Aldresha Bailey (4x400m Relay)
Anthony Bushay (Long Jump)
Dominique Crosby (4x400m Relay)
Kim Francis (60m)
Kim Francis (200m)
John Franklin (60m)
Josh Goree (200m)
Josh Goree (4x400m Relay)
Alwayne Green (800m)
Trey Hadnot (4x400m Relay)
Stacia Hanneman (200m)
Chelsea Hayes (Triple Jump)
Taneka Henderson (400m)
Taneka Henderson (4x400m Relay)
Ed Ivory (60m)
Ed Ivory (200m)
Gilbert Julian (400m)
Gilbert Julian (4x400m Relay)
Yusuf Muhammad (60m Hurdles)
Yusuf Muhammad (4x400m Relay)




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205