Laticia Watson in 11th in Heptathlon after First Day of C-USA Championships

Laticia Watson
May 14, 2015

Results |  Photo Gallery 

EL PASO, Texas - Laticia Watson set two new personal record marks and scored 2,801 points in the heptathlon as the first day of action came to a close at the Conference USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Kidd Field in El Paso Thursday.

Watson finished the day in 11th place with 2,801 points in the heptathlon with four events completed and three events remaining. Those three events - long jump, javelin throw and 800m run - will completed Friday. She is sitting in 11th place only four points behind UAB's Ali Meister.

The junior from Gonzales, Louisiana who set the school record with 3,302 points in the indoor season equivalent pentathlon opened up Thursday's heptathlon competition with a career-best time of 14.82 in the 100m hurdles. Three events later, she wrapped up the day with a personal record time of 25.60 in the 200m.

In between Watson had a high jump mark of 4-10.5 (1.49m) and a shot put throw of 30-11 (9.42m).

UTEP's Jallycia Pearson leads the competition with 3,289 points.

Action at the C-USA Championships resumes Friday with the women's hammer throw beginning at 11 a.m. CT/10 a.m. MT with the men's hammer throw to follow at 1:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. MT. The remaining events in the heptathlon will conclude Friday beginning with the long jump at 5:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. MT. Friday's events conclude with the 10,000m run starting at 9 p.m. CT/8 p.m. MT.

Links to live results can be found at LATechSports.com. A free live video stream of the four-day championship meet is also available to fans.

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field and Cross Country, please follow @LATechTandF on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

 

 

#WeAreLATech

Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


           

Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205