Muhammad, Richardson Advance at NCAA East Prelims

May 23, 2013

Results

GREENSBORO, N.C. -

Louisiana Tech got off to a hot start at the 2013 NCAA East Preliminary Championships at the Irwin Belk Track in Greensboro as two of the school’s three athletes competing Thursday advanced to the next round.

Yusuf Muhammad led off the day by running 51.92 in the men’s 400m hurdles to place second in his heat and 10th overall in the first round. His place automatically advanced him to the quarterfinal round set for 7:45 p.m. ET/6:45 p.m. CT on Friday.

Dennis Ricardson also advanced in the 100m as he ran 10.40 to finish third in his heat and 21st overall to automatically advance. He will run in the quarterfinal round on Friday at 6:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. CT.

In the running events in the first round, 48 athletes compete in six heats with the top three finishers in each heat plus the next six best times advancing to the quarterfinal round. Of the 24 athletes that advance, Friday’s quarterfinal round will cut the list down to see which 12 athletes in each event will advance to the semifinal round at the NCAA Championships on June 5-8 in Eugene, Ore.

On the women’s side, Charla Craddock finished 41st in the long jump with a mark of 18-7.25 (5.67m). Only the top 12 jumpers advanced to the NCAA Championships in June.

Action at the 2013 NCAA East Prelims continues on Friday with the field events starting with Joshua Cox in the men’s javelin at Noon ET/11 a.m. CT while the track events kickoff with Kim Francis and Bianca Jackson in the women’s 100m hurdles at 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT.


 

 

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field, please follow @LATechTandF on Twitter and visit the official home of LA Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

 

 Thursday's Results
 Place  Name  Event  Mark  Round
21 Dennis Richardson 100m 10.40 First Round
10 Yusuf Muhammad 400m Hurdles 51.92 First Round
41 Charla Craddock Long Jump 18-7.25 (5.67m) First Round

 

 Friday's Schedule
 Time (CT)  Name  Event  Round
 11 a.m.  Joshua Cox  Javelin  First Round
 4 p.m.  Kim Francis  100m Hurdles  First Round
  

 Bianca Jackson

 100m Hurdles

 First Round

 5 p.m.

 Pamela Lee

 High Jump

 First Round

 5:45 p.m.

 Dennis Richardson

 100m

 Quarterfinals

 6:45 p.m.

 Yusuf Muhammad

 400m Hurdles

 Quarterfinals

 7:25 p.m.

 Trey Hadnot

 200m

 First Round

  

 Niko Richey

 200m

 First Round

#WeAreLATech

  • Official
    LA Tech Store

Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


           

Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205