Yusuf Muhammad Punches Ticket to Eugene


 

 

May 24, 2013

Results

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Junior Yusuf Muhammad ran the fastest time in the 400m hurdles at the NCAA East Preliminary Championships Friday to become the first Louisiana Tech athlete to punch his ticket to the NCAA Championships.

Muhammad’s time of 50.86 was the best at the NCAA East Prelims this year and almost two-tenths of a second (0.2) better than the next best time. Muhammad will advance to the semifinal round at the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore. on June 5-8.

"It was a little windy outside and cold, so it wasn't fast fast, but still pretty moving," Muhammad said. "I worked on my mechanics down the backstretch. I just finished strong."

Advancing to Saturday’s quarterfinal round in Greensboro were Kim Francis in the 100m hurdles and Trey Hadnot in the 200m.

Francis ran 13.10 to finish fifth overall (second in her heat) to automatically advance while Hadnot ran 20.73 in the 200m as he placed sixth overall (second in his heat) to automatically advance.

Bianca Jackson ran 13.63 in the women’s 100m hurdles and Niko Richey ran 21.35 in the men’s 200m but neither advanced.

Joshua Cox completed his season in the men’s javelin as he finished 22nd with a throw of 213-4 (65.02m) while Pamela Lee finished the year in the women’s high jump with a mark of 5-5.75 (1.67m), placing 17th.


 

 

Also in the quarterfinal round, Dennis Richardson ran 10.52 in the 100m to finish 21st overall, ending his season in that event.

Saturday’s action begins at 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT as Devin Henderson competes in the triple jump while track events start at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT with the men’s and women’s relay teams competing in the 4x100m relays.

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field, please follow @LATechTandF on Twitter and visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.