Chelsea Hayes Qualifies for NCAA Championships in 100m Dash


 

 

May 25, 2012

Results |  Quotes |  Notes | Hayes Post-Race Interview

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - After two days at the NCAA East Preliminary Championships, Louisiana Tech’s Chelsea Hayes is now two-for-two as she qualified for the NCAA Championships in the 100-meter dash, a day after qualifying in the long jump.

The New Orleans native ran 11.43 in her quarterfinal round heat to automatically advance as she placed second. Hayes will have a chance to make it a clean sweep Saturday when she runs the second leg of the 4x100-meter relay.

Kimberly Smith also competed in the 100-meter quarterfinal round placing 13th overall with a time of 11.53, just one spot out of advancement.

In the 100-meter hurdles, Kim Francis ran the third-fastest time in school history (13.21) to advance to the quarterfinal round. Francis’ time was a personal record as she finished third in her heat.

Despite a season plagued by injuries, Trey Hadnot had a strong start in the 200-meter dash opening round as he advanced to Saturday’s quarterfinal round. Hadnot placed fourth in his heat but his time of 20.99 allowed him to advance. Dennis Richardson ran 21.35 and finished 37th overall.

Micara Vassell finished 16th in the discus, throwing 155-9 (47.47m). Vassell, a junior from Jamaica, concluded her season as she made the finals but will not advance to Des Moines.

In the 110-meter hurdles, Kendall Hayes finished 31st overall with a time of 14.08. Kendall still has a chance to move on to Des Moines when he runs in the men’s 4x100-meter relay Saturday.


 

 

Saturday’s action begins at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT for Louisiana Tech with the men’s and women’s 4x100-meter relays. Kim Francis quarterfinal round in the 100-meter hurdles will take place at 7:20 p.m. ET/6:20 p.m. CT and Trey Hadnot will run in the 200-meter quarterfinal round at 7:35 p.m. ET/6:35 p.m. CT.

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field, please visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.