Track and Field Heads to NCAA Championships

June 4, 2013

Meet Notes: NCAA ChampionshipsGet Acrobat Reader

EUGENE, Ore. - Louisiana Tech's track and field program continues postseason competition this week as the NCAA Championships begin Wednesday at Historic Heyward Field in Eugene on the campus of the University of Oregon.

Wednesday's action will be broadcast live on Oregon/Pac12.com while Thursday through Saturday will feature live coverage on ESPN3. Saturday's finals will also be televised on ESPNU.

Tech has three entries at the 2013 NCAA Championships with Yusuf Muhammd (400m hurdles), Kim Francis (100m hurdles) and the men's 4x100m relay team competing.

The relay team will be the first on the track starting at 6:15 p.m. CT/4:15 p.m. PT for the semifinal round while Muhammad will compete in the semifinal round of the men's 400m hurdles at 8:15 p.m. CT/6:15 p.m. PT.

On Thursday, Kim Francis will get her turn as she competes in the semifinal round of the 100m hurdles at 7:05 p.m. CT/5:05 p.m. PT.

Should they advance, the 400m hurdles finals will be run on Friday at 6:40 p.m. CT/4:40 p.m. PT while the men's 4x100m relay finals will be held on Saturday at 4:12 p.m. CT/2:12 p.m. PT. The women's 100m hurdles finals are slated for 5:09 p.m. CT/3:09 p.m. PT. All of Saturday's track action will be televised live on ESPNU.

In each of the events, the top two marks from each semifinal heat plus the next two best times will advance to the finals rounds.

In the 400m hurdles, Muhammad will run in the second heat in lane five and will compete against Mica-Jonathan Petit-Home (LIU Brooklyn), Antonio Blanks (Ohio State), Ali Arastu (Michigan), Miles Ukaoma (Nebraska), Eric Futch (Houston), Joshua Smith (UTSA) and Ethan Holmes (Iowa).

The men's 4x100m relay squad consisting of Devin Henderson, Trey Hadnot, Niko Richey and Dennis Richardson will run in a Pelican State-heavy heat, competing in lane seven with Northwestern State in lane two and LSU in lane four. Also competing in the heat is Houston, Iowa, Arkansas, Florida State and Clemson.

Kim Francis will run in the second heat and drew a very un-advantageous slot in lane eight. She will compete against Deanna Latham (Wisconsin), Sade Mariah Greenidge (Houston), Ugonna Ndu (Florida), Sharika Nelvis (Arkansas State), Kendra Harrison (Clemson), Morgan Snow (Texas) and Kierre Beckles (South Carolina).

For complete coverage of Tech Track and Field, please follow @LATechTandF on Twitter and visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.


 

 

#WeAreLATech

  • Official
    LA Tech Store

Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


           

Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205