Gebhardt, Hedges Named Preseason All-WAC

Jan. 28, 2013

RUSTON, La. - Louisiana Tech's Ryan Gebhardt was named preseason first team all-Western Athletic Conference, while senior Austin Hedges received second team honors by on Monday.

Gebhardt, a junior from Monroe, led the Bulldogs last season with a .341 batting average, 76 hits and 44 runs scored. He started and played every inning of every game in 2012. Gebhardt also posted team-highs in doubles (14), sacrifice bunts (11), plate appearances (264) and at bats (223) as he was named first-team All-WAC for the second consecutive season. Gebhardt also earned first team honors from in 2012.

Hedges, a senior from Shreveport, started 53 games at second base for LA Tech in 2012, while hitting .296 with 26 runs batted in, 56 hits and 27 runs scored. He was third on the team in batting average and posted a .409 on base percentage during his junior campaign. Hedges also led the Bulldogs in stolen bases last season with eight.

Season tickets for the upcoming season are available now and can be purchased by calling the Tech Ticket Office at 318-257-3631, emailing or logging on to

For complete coverage of LA Tech baseball, follow @LATechBSB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech athletics at

First Team

P - Adam Mott, New Mexico State

P - Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield

P - Dallas Chadwick, Sacramento State

IF - Andrew Ayers, Sacramento State

IF - Parker Hipp, New Mexico State

IF - Ryan Gebhardt, Louisiana Tech

IF - Cael Brockmeyer, CSU Bakersfield

IF - Ryan Walker, UT Arlington

OF - Boomer Collins, Dallas Baptist

OF - Justin Higley, Sacramento State

OF - Kevin Younger, CSU Bakersfield

UTIL - Rhys Hoskins, Sacramento State



Second Team

P - Cy Sneed, Dallas Baptist

P - Michael Smith, Dallas Baptist

P - Taylor Aikenhead, CSU Bakersfield

IF - Clay Cederquist, Sacramento State

IF - Tanner Rust, New Mexico State

IF - Duncan McAlpine, Dallas Baptist

IF - Austin Hedges, Louisiana Tech

IF - Oscar Sanay, CSU Bakersfield

OF - Kyle Phillips, New Mexico State

OF - Ronnie Mitchell, Dallas Baptist

OF - Nick Schultz, San Jose State

UTIL - David Del Grande, Sacramento State

Field Player of the Year - Boomer Collins, Dallas Baptist

Pitcher of the Year - Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield

Freshman of the Year - Scott Blumer, Sacramento State

Coach of the Year - Dan Heefner, Dallas Baptist


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205