Bulldogs Earn All-State honors



June 20, 2010

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech senior outfielder Devon Dageford earned yet another honor this weekend when the All-American was named first team all-state by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

The team was announced this weekend after voting by state baseball sports information directors and a voting panel of LSWA members.

Dageford was the lone Bulldog voted to the first team while teammate Mark Threlkeld was named second team. Will Alvis and Joey Ford were both named honorable mention all-state.

Dageford earned the honor after leading the Bulldogs with a .373 batting average this season, collecting 85 hits in 228 at bats. The senior also earned first team all-Western Athletic Conference accolades and first team All-South Central Region honors after recording a school record 21 doubles and adding 17 home runs and 56 RBI.

The Beatrice, Nebraska native was a preseason first team All-American honoree.

Threlkeld was named second team all-state at third base after batting .335 with 14 home runs and 62 RBI. The Monroe native, who also earned first team all-WAC honors this season, ranked second on the Bulldog team with 80 hits and 62 runs scored.

Alvis earned honorable mention honors at the designated hitter position after batting .308 with 13 home runs and 41 RBI. The Jasper, Texas native collected 53 hits, including 11 doubles, while also scoring 42 runs.

Ford earned his honors at second base after batting .371 with three home runs and 48 RBI. The Bossier City native, who earned second team all-conference accolades this year, recorded 79 hits, including 14 doubles, while scoring 38 runs and committing only four errors in the field.

Tulane third baseman Rob Segedin was named Louisiana's Hitter of the Year while teammate Blake Crohan picked up Freshman of the Year honors.



Joining Segedin and Crohan for top honors were Zach Osbourne of Louisiana-Lafayette for Pitcher of the Year; Northwestern State's Oscar Garcia for Newcomer of the Year; and Southeastern Louisiana head coach Jay Artigues joined Louisiana-Lafayette skipper Tony Robichaux to share Coach of the Year honors.

2010 All-Louisiana Baseball


P - Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette

P - Luke Irvine, Northwestern State

P - Nick Pepitone, Tulane

P - Boone Whiting, Centenary

C - Micah Gibbs, LSU

1B - Blake Dean, LSU

2B - Nick Schwaner, UNO

3B - Rob Segedin, Tulane

SS - Jace Peterson, McNeese State

OF - Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

OF - Eric DeBlanc, Northwestern State

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU

DH - Matt Gaudet, LSU

UTL - Blake Crohan, Tulane


P - John James, LSU-Shreveport

P - Justin Ennis, LSU-Shreveport

P - Chris Franklin, Southeastern Louisiana

P - Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State

C - Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport

1B - Kevin Smith, LSU-Shreveport

2B - Jordan Poirrier, Louisiana-Lafayette

3B - Mark Threlkeld, Louisiana Tech

SS - Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern Louisiana

OF - Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State

OF - Cody Laprarie, Louisiana College

OF - Cliff Shepard, Centenary

DH - Joe Sparacino, Southeastern Louisiana

UTL - Judd Edwards, ULM

HONORABLE MENTION: P - Clint Dempster, Nicholls; P - Paul Bertuccini, LSU; P - Jaden Dillon, McNeese; P - Jordan Hymel, SLU; P - Austin Ross, LSU; C - Chad Keefer, Louisiana-Lafayette; 1B - Frazer Hall, Southern; 2B - Joey Ford, LTU; 3B - Chase Lyles, NSU; SS - Austin Nola, LSU; DH - Will Alvis, LTU; UTL - Brody Bourque, Nicholls and Jeff Ericson, Centenary; OF - Cody Laprarie, La. College; OF - Leon Landry, LSU; OF - Brett Comer, Nicholls.