White Chosen as USBWA District VII Coach of the Year

March 13, 2013

RUSTON - Two days after receiving the WAC Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Louisiana Tech head coach Michael White as the District VII Coach of the Year.

The awards are presented in nine regional districts from coast to coast at the conclusion of the season and are based on voting from its national membership of 900-plus with District VII covering Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana.

Coach White led his Bulldogs to a 26-5 overall record during the regular season, including the second longest winning streak of the season at 18 games.

The second-year head coach also led LA Tech to a 16-2 conference record, a share of its first ever WAC regular season title and a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament.

Other coaches receiving honors were Northeastern's Bill Coen (District I), Georgetown's John Thompson III (District II), Duke's Mike Krzyzewski (District III), Miami's Jim Larranaga (District IV), Indiana's Tom Crean (District V), Kansas State's Bruce Weber (District VI), New Mexico's Steve Alford (District VIII) and Gonzaga's Mark Few (District IX).

The USBWA was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

For complete coverage of LA Tech Men's Basketball, please follow @LATechHoops on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at www.LATechSports.com.




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205