Guard Trio, Coach White Honored by NABC

March 27, 2015

All-District Teams and Coaches Get Acrobat Reader

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Louisiana Tech head coach Michael White and the Bulldog backcourt of Kenneth Smith, Raheem Appleby and Alex Hamilton were recognized today by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), an organization which honors the nation's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches from 25 districts.

Coach White was voted as the 2015 NABC District 11 Coach of the Year while the three guards were each selected as second team All-District.

This announcement comes two days after LA Tech had its season come to a close after a loss in the NIT Quarterfinals, ending with a 27-9 overall record which marked the third straight season of 27+ victories.

White led the Bulldogs to a Conference USA regular season title, the third straight league title for the program and the first outright title for the program since 1999.

This is the second honor for White by the NABC. In 2013, he was also named the District Coach of the Year.

Speedy finished with an incredible senior year, totaling 267 assists which is currently the most of any Division I player in the country.

He also ranks in the top 20 in the nation in total steals (69) and assist/turnover ratio (3.00) while anchoring a defense that forced 15.6 turnovers per game.

Appleby rebounded from missing a good chunk of last season due to injury to leading the Bulldogs in scoring with an average of 14.9 points per game, scoring in double figures in 31 of the 36 games.

He posted eight 20+ scoring performances and produced arguably his best year defensively, tallying a career-high 46 steals.

Hamilton was neck and neck with Appleby in the scoring category, finishing the year with an average of 14.7 points per game. The junior scored 27+ points in five games this season and also set a program record and NCAA-best mark this season with 20 made free throws in a single game.

LA Tech was one of only five teams in the country to have three players selected all-district in their designated district along with Kentucky, Wichita State, SMU and Robert Morris.

Everyone honored was selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC.

The NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. It currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches.

For all the latest in Bulldog Basketball, follow them on Twitter (@LATechHoops), Instagram (@LATechHoops) and Facebook (LATechMBB) or visit the official website at




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205