Hamilton, McCree Selected to All-LSWA Teams

April 17, 2016

RUSTON – Louisiana Tech’s Alex Hamilton and Erik McCree garnered more postseason accolades as the duo were selected to the All-LSWA team in a vote by a panel of statewide media members and sports information directors.

The two LA Tech stars led the Bulldogs to a 23-win season, the most by any Division I team in the state, and the program’s fourth straight postseason appearance.

After being named third team as a sophomore and second team as a junior, the senior Hamilton was chosen on the five-person first team along with Ben Simmons of LSU (Player and Freshman of the Year), Majok Deng of ULM, Shawn Long of Louisiana-Lafayette and Zeek Woodley of Northwestern State.

The AP Honorable Mention All-American, C-USA Player of the Year and five-time LSWA Player of the Week honoree (most in the state) joined recent Bulldog Raheem Appleby as being a three-time All-Louisiana selection.

The Chipley, Florida native finished the regular season ranked 28th in the country in total points (614), 15th in total assists (193) and 21st in total steals (64). He registered four games of 30+ points, two coming in back-to-back games which was a first since Randy White in 1989 and one being a career-high 38 points in a victory at Marshall.

Hamilton also recorded just the third triple-double in program history and the only one by a Louisiana player this season, coming in his final game inside the Thomas Assembly Center versus Rice. He also anchored a defense that forced a league-best 14.6 turnovers per game.

Erik McCree added to his list of honors, being named to the second team along with Demetric Austin of Dillard (Newcomer of the Year), DeAngelo Coleman of LSU-Alexandria, Travion Kirkendoll of Centenary and Morris Wright of Xavier.



The junior forward led LA Tech with eight double-doubles on the season, the most since 2011. He was one of only two players in C-USA to rank in both the top eight in scoring and rebounding average at 16.5 and 7.5 per game, respectively.

The Orlando, Florida native posted 25+ points in five games, recording a career-high 33 in a win over regular season champion UAB. He also poured in 30 points in the opening league game against Southern Miss.

This marked the first All-Louisiana award for McCree who has also been named Second Team All-Conference USA and NABC Second Team All-District this season.

For all the latest in Bulldog Basketball, follow them on Twitter (@LATechHoops), Instagram (@LATechHoops) and Facebook (LATechMBB) or visit the official website at LATechSports.com.

FIRST TEAM Majok Deng, ULM Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech Shawn Long, UL Lafayette Ben Simmons, LSU Zeek Woodley, Northwestern State

SECOND TEAM Demetric Austin, Dillard DeAngelo Coleman, LSU Alexandria Travion Kirkendoll, Centenary Erik McCree, Louisiana Tech Morris Wright, Xavier

THIRD TEAM Antonio Blakeney, LSU Anthony Gaines, Louisiana College Johnny Griffin, Loyola Keith Hornsby, LSU Adrian Rodgers, Southern

HONORABLE MENTION: Christavious Gill; New Orleans; Tim Quarterman, LSU; Justin Roberson, ULM


NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Demetric Austin, Dillard


COACH OF THE YEAR – Larry Cordaro, LSU Alexandria


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205