Kenneth Dixon Named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 18, 2013

DALLAS - Louisiana Tech running back Kenneth Dixon was named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Dixon was a 2012 Freshman All-America selection as he led the nation averaging 14.0 points per game. The Strong, Ark. native set NCAA Freshman records last season with rushing touchdowns (27), total touchdowns (28) and total points scored (168). All three of those records were held by Marshall Faulk before Dixon broke them.

The field of candidates is also highlighted by University of Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey. Carey, a junior from Tucson, Arizona, led the nation with 1,929 rushing yards last season. Other nominees include 2012 Doak Walker Award semifinalists David Fluellen (Toledo) and Venric Mark (Northwestern).

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 14, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 25. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on December 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2013 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2013.

The award, in its 24nd year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Honoring the legends of sports for 24 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.



The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

 The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. The Walter Camp Award will release the final NCFAA 2013 preseason watch list on July 19.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at


2013 Doak Walker Award Watch List

Ameer Abdullah (Jr.), Nebraska

Michael Alisa (Sr.), BYU

Antonio Andrews (Sr.), Western Kentucky

Dri Archer (Sr.), Kent State

Brendan Bigelow (Jr.), California

Beau Blankenship (Sr.), Ohio

Alfred Blue (Sr.), LSU

Dominique Brown (Jr.), Louisville

Ka'Deem Carey (Jr.), Arizona

B.J. Catalon (So.), TCU

Orleans Darkwa (Sr.), Tulane

Kenneth Dixon (So.), Louisiana Tech

Trayion Durham (Jr.), Kent State

Jahwan Edwards (Jr.), Ball State

David Fluellen (Sr.), Toledo

D.J. Foster (So.), Arizona State

Melvin Gordon (So.), Wisconsin

Marion Grice (Sr.), Arizona State

Todd Gurley (So.), Georgia

Joe Hill (Jr.), Utah State

John Hubert (Sr.), Kansas State

Carlos Hyde (Sr.), Ohio State

Waymon James (Sr.), TCU

Duke Johnson (So.), Miami

Storm Johnson (Jr.), UCF

Matt Jones (So.), Florida

Henry Josey (Jr.), Missouri

Ben Malena (Sr.), Texas A&M

Raymond Maples (Sr.), Army

Venric Mark (Sr.), Northwestern

Keith Marshall (So.), Georgia

Glasco Martin (Sr.), Baylor

Tre Mason (Jr.), Auburn

Lyle McCombs (Jr.), Connecticut

Adam Muema (Jr.), San Diego State

David Oku (Sr.), Arkansas State

Branden Oliver (Sr.), Buffalo

Jordan Parker (So.), Middle Tennessee

LaDarius Perkins (Sr.), Mississippi State

Senorise Perry (Sr.), Louisville

Christian Powell (So.), Colorado

Darrin Reaves (Jr.), UAB

Silas Redd (Sr.), USC

Bishop Sankey (Jr.), Washington

Lache Seastrunk (Jr.), Baylor

David Sims (Sr.), Georgia Tech

James Sims (Sr.), Kansas

Kiero Small (Sr.), Arkansas

Jeremy Smith (Sr.), Oklahoma State

Jerome Smith (Jr.), Syracuse

De'Anthony Thomas (Jr.), Oregon

Zurlon Tipton (Sr.), Central Michigan

Trey Watts (Sr.), Tulsa

Mark Weisman (Jr.), Iowa

James White (Sr.), Iowa State

James White (Sr.), Wisconsin

Andre Williams (Sr.), Boston College

Damien Williams (Sr.), Oklahoma

Jamaal Williams (So.), BYU

Jonathan Williams (Sr.), Arkansas

Storm Woods (So.), Oregon State

T.J. Yeldon (So.), Alabama

Zach Zwinak (Jr.), Penn State


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205