Louisiana Tech Receives Votes in Preseason USA Today Coaches' Poll



Aug. 2, 2012

 Quick Links
Fall Camp Central Buy Tickets Independence Stadium Joe Aillet Stadium Seating Chart
2012 Schedule Kids Club Dogs Helping Dogs Cushion Seats

RUSTON, La. - Louisiana Tech's football team received 10 votes in the USA Today Coaches' Preseason Poll released Thursday.

The Bulldogs program, coming off a 2011 Western Athletic Conference championship, received 10 votes from the coaches effectively ranking Louisiana Tech tied for 36th in the nation with BYU. Tech returns 16 starters from last year's WAC championship team.

Texas A&M, Tech's season opening opponent, was the only team that Tech will face this year to receive more votes than the Bulldogs. The Aggies received 28 votes, effectively ranking them 30th. Technically, USA Today only considers teams after the No. 25 spot as receiving votes.

Two other 2012 opponents received votes as Virginia received nine votes and Houston received seven. Tech will play at Virginia on Sept. 29 and at Houston on Sept. 8.

Louisiana Tech opens the season on Aug. 30 against Texas A&M at Independence Stadium in Shreveport. The school recently announced that club level and premium chairback seating for that game is sold out but plenty of good seats remain as Tech hosts a Southeastern Conference foe in front of a national television audience.

To purchase tickets please call the LA Tech Ticket Office at 318-257-3631, email Tech Tickets@LATech.edu or visit www.LATechSports.com.

The USA TODAY Board of Coaches is made up of 59 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2012 season: David Bailiff, Rice; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Tim Beckman, Illinois; Bret Bielema, Wisconsin; Terry Bowden, Akron; Art Briles, Baylor; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Toledo; Gene Chizik, Auburn; Dave Christensen, Wyoming; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State; Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois; Sonny Dykes, Louisiana Tech; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Kyle Flood, Rutgers; James Franklin, Vanderbilt; Al Golden, Miami (Fla.); Jim Grobe, Wake Forest; Darrell Hazell, Kent State; Brady Hoke, Michigan; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Skip Holtz, South Florida; Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette; Curtis Johnson, Tulane; Ellis Johnson, Southern Miss; Butch Jones, Cincinnati; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Lane Kiffin, Southern California; Mike Leach, Washington State; Pete Lembo, Ball State; Tony Levine, Houston; Mike London, Virginia; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Dan McCarney, North Texas; Mike MacIntyre, San Jose State; Ruffin McNeill, East Carolina; Gus Malzahn, Arkansas State; Bronco Mendenhall, BYU; Les Miles, LSU; George O'Leary, Central Florida; Paul Pasqualoni, Connecticut; Bo Pelini, Nebraska; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Joker Phillips, Kentucky; Paul Rhoads, Iowa State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Oregon State; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Sarkisian, Washington; Frank Solich, Ohio; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Jeff Tedford, California; Tommy Tuberville, Texas Tech; Kevin Wilson, Indiana.

AFCA policy bars schools under major NCAA or conference sanctions from receiving votes. Schools affected this season are North Carolina, Ohio State and Penn State. Central Florida will remain eligible until the NCAA rules on the school's appeal.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.