Scobee on Preseason Groza Watch List


Posted Aug 6, 2003 15:44:25
Scobee on Preseason Groza Watch List

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech senior Josh Scobee was named to the 2003 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List Wednesday.

Scobee is one of 30 of the nations top kickers named to the list for the award given annually to the country's top place-kicker. He is the only kicker from a Western Athletic Conference program on the list.

The Longview, Texas, native, who has been a semifinalist for the award the past two years, enters his final season already solidified as one of Louisiana Tech's most productive kickers during its 100-plus years of football. During his three-year career, Scobee has hit 45 of 61 career field goals and 114 of 122 career extra points for a total of 249 career points.

The 21-year-old has a legitimate shot at becoming Louisiana Tech's career scoring leader, trailing former Bulldog wide receiver Troy Edwards by 93 points.

Scobee also proved to be lethal on Tech kickoffs last year, having 32 of 65 downed for touchbacks, including one incredible string of 17 in a row.

A panel of over 300 experts votes on the award, including Division I head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and former Lou Groza winners.

The award, now in its 12th year, is named for NFL Hall of Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. The 20 semifinalists will be announced Monday, Nov. 3, followed by the naming of the three finalists two weeks later on Nov. 17.

Dario Aguiniga, New Mexico State
Joey Ashcroft, Air Force Academy
Steve Azar, Northern Illinois
Jeff Babcock, Colorado State
Xavier Beitia, Florida State
Dustin Bell, Houston
Adam Benike, Iowa State
Billy Bennett, Georgia
Nick Browne, TCU
Trey DiCarlo, Oklahoma
Drew Dunning, Washington State
Robbie Gould, Penn State
Santiago Gramatica, South Florida
Mike Gruzwalski, Central Michigan
Nick Hayes, UAB
Aaron Hunt, Clemson
Nate Kaeding, Iowa
Ryan Killeen, USC
Jonathan Nichols, Mississippi
Nick Novak, Maryland
Mike Nugent, Ohio State
Jared Parseghian, Miami University
Matt Payne, BYU
Sandro Sciortino, Boston College
Josh Scobee, Louisiana Tech
Jared Siegel, Oregon
Brent Smith, Mississippi State
Shaun Suisham, Bowling Green State
Matt Wisnosky, Wake Forest
Kirk Yliniemi, Oregon State