Captains Named for Bulldogs in 2004

Posted Aug 30, 2004 15:56:20

Captains Named for Bulldogs in 2004

RUSTON - By a vote of the players, Louisiana Tech named its captains for the 2004 season during a meeting Sunday night.

Head coach Jack Bicknell allowed his players to vote for who they felt deserved to receive the honor. Although Bicknell stressed that it was the seniors team, he would allow players to vote for underclassmen if they players they were deserving.

This year's captains are senior tight end Aaron Capps, senior wide receiver Julius Cosby, senior wide receiver Erick Franklin, senior defensive lineman Jemelle Cage, senior defensive lineman Travon Brown, senior defensive lineman Chris Van Hoy and senior linebacker John Nash.

"I think that our team did an admirable job of selecting these captains," Bicknell said. "Every one of these seven guys possesses great leadership qualities. That's what being a captain is all about."

Bicknell and the Bulldogs will open the season Sept. 6 against Nevada at noon at Joe Aillet Stadium.




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205