Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Finalists Announced

Quin Harris
Quin Harris

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Louisiana Tech’s senior linebacker Quin Harris has been selected as one of thirty finalists for the inaugural Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award.



Harris was selected due to his hard work and efforts on and off the playing field.  His accomplishments on the field include; registering over 200 tackles in his Tech career, earning Second Team All-WAC honors in 2007, Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Team in 2006 and 2007 and Rivals.com All-WAC Team in 2007.

In addition to excelling on the field, Harris has played a large role in helping out the Ruston community amassing over 50 hours of community service throughout college which includes; Habitat for Humanity, St. Jude Radioathon, Northeast Louisiana Food Drive, Lift for Learning, Louisiana Tech Halloween Carnival, reading to kids at A.E. Phillips Elementary in Ruston and the A.E. Phillips Elementary Spring Carnival.

Harris accomplished all of this while maintaining a 3.8 grade point average throughout college.  He graduated in the spring of 2008 and is now pursuing a master’s degree in Exercise Physiology and Sports Performance. 

The Visalia, Calif., native is the only student-athlete from a Western Athletic Conference school and a Louisiana-based program to be included on the list.

To be eligible for the football award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior (in the Football Bowl Subdivision only) and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: Classroom, Character, Community, and Competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages those leaders to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact on their circle of influence.

This prestigious awards program was launched during the 2001-02 basketball season, added six additional sports in 2007, and has now expanded this year to include NCAA football.

            Harris joins an elite group of NCAA Division I student-athletes as a candidate for the Award.  Twenty-six NCAA colleges and universities and 11 different athletics Conferences are represented. Ohio State University has the most candidates with three, while the University of Alabama and Georgia Tech University have two candidates each. Five members of the inaugural Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award football contingent played in a Bowl Championship Series game last season.

These 30 student-athletes will be narrowed down to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will then be placed on the official ballot. The ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select the candidate that best exemplifies excellence in the “Four C’s” of Classroom, Character, Community, and Competition. The overall winner of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for football will be announced during a 2008-09 post-season college football event.


2008 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Football Candidates

Name                          Position                                   School

Quin Harris                Linebacker                             Louisiana Tech University

Travis Beckum             Tight End                                  University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Jeff Byers                     Offensive Guard/Center            University of Southern California

Antoine Caldwell          Center                                     University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa)

Ian Campbell                Defensive End                         Kansas State University

Chase Clement             Quarterback                             Rice University

Maurice Crum              Linebacker                               University of Notre Dame

Chase Daniel                Quarterback                             University of Missouri (Columbia)

Travis Dekker              Tight End                                  U.S. Air Force Academy

Dustin Duclo                 Linebacker                               Western Michigan University

Larry English                Defensive End                           Northern Illinois University

Marcus Freeman          Linebacker                               Ohio State University

Andrew Gardner          Offensive Tackle                       Georgia Tech University

Courtney Greene          Safety                                       Rutgers University

Graham Harrell             Quarterback                             Texas Tech University

James Laurinaitis           Linebacker                               Ohio State University

Jonathan Luigs              Center                                      University of Arkansas(Fayetteville)

Alex Mack                   Center                                      University of California (Berkeley)

Mohamed Massaquoi   Wide Receiver                          University of Georgia

Tim Masthay                 Kicker                                      University of Kentucky

Stephen McGee           Quarterback                             Texas A&M University (College Station)

Troy Nolan                   Safety                                      Arizona State University

Curtis Painter                Quarterback                             Purdue University

Eric Peterman               Wide Receiver                          Northwestern University

Sha'reff Rashad             Defensive Back                        University of Central Florida

Darryl Richard              Defensive Tackle                      Georgia Tech University

Brian Robiskie             Wide Receiver                          Ohio State University

Louie Sakoda               Punter/Kicker                           University of Utah

Austin Starr                  Kicker                                      Indiana University

John Parker Wilson      Quarterback                             University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa)