Louisiana Tech QB Colby Cameron Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

Oct. 22, 2012

About Cameron in 2012Get Acrobat Reader

FORT WORTH, Texas - Louisiana Tech quarterback Colby Cameron has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, one of 16 quarterbacks selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee.

The list of semifinalists was whittled to 16 from a list of all 124 starting quarterbacks at the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) level. The selection committee was asked to consider the following criteria in selecting the semifinalists: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Cameron is 196-for-275 this season for 2,306 yards and 20 touchdowns and is only one of two quarterbacks to have not thrown an interception. The Newbury Park, Calif. native recently set a NCAA record by starting the season with 275 (and counting) passes attempted without an interception. The senior is completing 71.3 percent of his passes and is averaging 329.4 passing yards per game.

Also a threat on the ground when he wants to be, Cameron has ran for 90 yards on 35 attempts and one touchdown this year. He currently leads the nation's most dynamic offense as the Bulldogs are averaging 56.1 points and 581.6 total yards per game.

Last week Cameron guided the Bulldogs to a Western Athletic Conference record 56 points in the first half en route to a 70-28 win over Idaho. Tech's field marshal was 29-for-37 for 400 yards and two touchdowns before he was pulled for back-up Zach Griffith midway through the third quarter in the blowout victory.

LA Tech is currently ranked No. 24 in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll.

The 2012 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), SEC (3), ACC (2), Big Ten (2), Pac-12 (2), Big East (1) and WAC (1).

2012 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East

Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, WAC

Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12

Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12

Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12

Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12

EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten

Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12


Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 18.

The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 6 on ESPN. The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

The Davey O'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, www.ncfaa.org.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechPWalsh on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205