@LATechFB Honors Team at Annual Banquet

Dec. 13, 2015

RUSTON, La. - Louisiana Tech honored its 2015 football team and 26-member senior class Saturday evening at the team's annual banquet held on the Club Level of the Davison Athletics Complex.

Members of the coaching staff presented the program's annual awards and honored the players that had been recognized with awards and honors throughout the year.

"Normally we hold our banquet in January but with so many of our seniors having already graduated from Louisiana Tech University, including eight players receiving their degree last month, we wanted to recognize this team's many accomplishments before they left Ruston to pursue their next opportunity," Louisiana Tech head coach Skip Holtz said.

Student-athletes from freshmen to seniors were honored throughout the night with Michael Mims winning the Dr. Les Guice Academic Award for the second consecutive year while Jeff Driskel and Courtney Wallace shared the Davison Family Community Service Award. Driskel was also named the Terry Bradshaw Offensive Player of the Year.

Strength and conditioning coach Kurt Hester presented Beau Fitte with the Karl Malone Strength and Conditioning Award while Vernon Butler was named the Willie Roaf Lineman of the Year and Jens Danielsen was named the Wayne Smith Offensive Lineman of the Year. Fitte was also named the Fred Dean Defensive Player of the Year, sharing the honors with Vontarrius Dora while Bryson Abraham was named the Tramon Williams Defensive Skill Player of the Year.

Jonathan Barnes was named the Matt Stover Special Teams Player of the Year while Kenneth Dixon was named the Troy Edwards Offensive Skill Player of the Year.

The program honored 27 players named to the Victors Club, one of the top honors of the night. In order to be named to the Victors Club, a player must be graded by a winner by the coaching staff in at least eight games.

A full list of award winners can be found below.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow Louisiana Tech on social media at @LATechFB (Twitter), /LATechFootball (Facebook) and @LATechFB (Instagram) or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

 2015 Louisiana Tech Football Banquet Awards
 Team Awards
 Dr. Les Guice Academic Award  Michael Mims
 Davison Family Community Service Award  Jeff Driskel, Courtney Wallace
 Karl Malone Strength & Conditioning Award  Beau Fitte
 Willie Roaf Lineman of the Year  Vernon Butler
 Wayne Smith Offensive Lineman of the Year  Jens Danielsen
 Troy Edwards Offensive Skill Player of the Year  Kenneth Dixon
 Terry Bradshaw Offensive Player of the Year  Jeff Driskel
 Tramon Williams Defensive Skill Player of the Year  Bryson Abraham
 Fred Dean Defensive Player of the Year  Vontarrius Dora, Beau Fitte
 Matt Stover Special Teams Player of the Year  Jonathan Barnes
 Offensive Awards
 Scout Team Award  Collin Scott
 Toughness Award  Kenneth Dixon
 Effort Award  Trent Taylor
 Defensive Awards
 Scout Team Award  Alfred Smith
 Toughness Award  Nick Thomason
 Effort Award  Xavier Woods
 Special Teams Awards
 Scout Team Award  Darryl Lewis
 Toughness Award  Ricky Jones, Secdrick Cooper
 Effort Award  Jarred Craft, Dolan Dunigan
 Victors Club
 Bryson Abraham  Beau Fitte
 Adairius Barnes  Josh Gaston
 Jonathan Barnes  Lloyd Grogan
 Kentrell Brice  Carlos Henderson
 Aaron Brown  Ricky Jones
 Darrell Brown  Blake Martin
 Vernon Butler  Kam McKnight
 C.J. Cleveland  Josh Robinson
 Secdrick Cooper  Trent Taylor
 Jarred Craft  Nick Thomason
 Jens Danielsen  Darrell Travis
 Kenneth Dixon  Paul Turner
 Vontarrius Dora  Xavier Woods
 Jeff Driskel  




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205