Lange, Wilmore Earn All-LSWA Honors

June 3, 2013

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech freshman Victor Lange and junior Travis Wilmore both earned spots on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Men's Golf Team which was voted on by the school sports information directors.

Lange was named first team all-state while Wilmore earned second team honors.

Lange earned first team all-Western Athletic Conference honors this year as he recorded six Top 10 finishes during his rookie season while registering a 74.1 scoring average. He was 561-230 on the year and won his first collegiate event, posting an eight-under-par 205 to claim the Sam Hall Intercollegiate in early September. He also registered 13 rounds of par or better in 33 total rounds played.

Wilmore also earned first team all-WAC honors during his junior campaign after registering four Top 10 finishes and a 74.0 scoring average. The Alexandria native was 562-229 on the year with 11 rounds of par or better. He captured the individual title at the 2012 Jim Rivers Intercollegiate in early October, overcoming a four shot deficit over the final eight holes of play to win.

LSU golfer Curtis Thompson was named the Golfer of the Year while Southeastern Louisiana's Eamon Bradley earned the Freshman of the Year award despite only earning second team honors (while Lange was named first team).

Southeastern's Tim Baldwin was named the Coach of the Year while UNO's Bryan Odaiyar earned Newcomer of the Year accolades.

Joining Lange and Thompson on the first team is LSU junior Andrew Presley of Fort Worth, Texas; Louisiana-Lafayette's Brandt Garon of Baton Rouge; and Southeastern Louisiana's Rhys West of Johannesburg, South Africa.

Second team honors went to LSU's Stewart Jolly and Zach Wright, Bradley of SLU, and Mason Seaborn of Louisiana-Monroe.

Men's Golf All-Louisiana

First Team

Curtis Thompson, LSU So. Coral Springs, Fla.



Andrew Presley, LSU Jr. Fort Worth, Texas

Rhys West, Southeastern Sr. Johannesburg, South Africa

Brandt Garon, Louisiana-Lafayette Sr. Baton Rouge, La.

Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech Fr. Johannesburg, South Africa

Second Team

Stewart Jolly, LSU So. Birmingham, Ala.

Eamon Bradley, Southeastern Fr. Glasgow, Scotland

Zach Wright, LSU Fr. Phoenix, Ariz.

Mason Seaborn, ULM So. Montrose, Ala.

Travis Wilmore, Louisiana Tech Jr. Alexandria. La.

Player of the Year: Curtis Thompson, LSU

Newcomer of the Year: Bryan Odaiyar, UNO

Freshman of the Year: Eamon Bradley, Southeastern Louisiana

Coach of the Year: Tim Baldwin, Southeastern Louisiana


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205