@LATechGolf Sophomore Victor Lange Named All-Louisiana



June 3, 2014

LAKE CHARLES, La. - Louisiana Tech sophomore Victor Lange was honored by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association as South Africa native was named second team All-Louisiana.

Lange received second team honors along with Eamon Bradley (Southeastern Louisiana), Fernando Cruze Valle (UL-Lafayette), Curtis Thompson (LSU) and Haraldur Magnus (UL-Lafayette).

He was also named second team All-Conference USA, C-USA All-Tournament and Bayou City Collegiate Championship All-Tournament during the season.

Lange led the team with a school record 72.80 stroke average over his 35 rounds played in 2013-14, breaking the old school record of 73.34. He became the first Bulldog golfer in school history to receive a bid to compete at the NCAA Regionals where he recorded a top-25 finish. Lange’s all-conference honors make him the first golfer at LA Tech to receive back-to-back all-conference honors sine Freddy Killam did so in the Southland Conference in 1981-82.

He ranked 13th in school history with a team-best low round score of 67 while his 209 tournament round on Feb. 21-23 ties for sixth best in school history.

Student-athletes were nominated by school sports information directors and voted on by a panel of LSWA members, including SIDs which could not vote for their own players.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Golf, please follow @LATechGolf on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

Men’s Golf All-Louisiana

First Team



Stewart Jolly, LSU


Birmingham, Ala.

Hampus Bergman, McN


Orebro, Sweden

Ben Taylor, LSU


Leatherhead, England

Smylie Kaufman, LSU


Birmingham, Ala.

Grady Brame, SLU


Hammond, La.




Second Team



Victor Lange, LTU


Johannesburg, South Africa

Eamon Bradley, SLU


Glasgow, Scotland

Fernando Cruz Valle, ULL


The Woodlands, Texas

Curtis Thompson, LSU


Coral Springs, Fla.

Haraldur Magnus, ULL


Reykjavik, Iceland

Player of the Year:  Stewart Jolly, LSU
Newcomer of the Year:  Ben Taylor, LSU
Freshman of the Year:  Hampus Bergman, McNeese 
Coach of the Year:  Chuck Winstead, LSU