Tech Impressive in Third Place Finish


Updated Oct 16, 2007 22:30:33

Tech Impressive in Third Place Finish


CHOUDRANT, La. ? Ole Miss held off a furious second day rally by Louisiana Tech and LSU to win the team title at the Squire Creek Invitational hosted by the Bulldogs.

The Rebels repeated as team champions at the 18-team event by registering a three-round total of 860, narrowly defeating the Tigers (862) and Bulldogs (863).

Ole Miss held an eight stroke lead over LSU and a 16-stroke lead over Louisiana Tech after Monday?s rain-shortened action. However, the Bulldogs ? who were tied for 12th after Monday?s first round ? responded with an impressive second day, highlighted by Matthew Harvey?s 64 and Clinton Shepard?s 65.

As a team Tech shot 11-under in the final two rounds to move up nine spots in a field which included seven teams ranked in the Top 100 in the nation.

?I?m extremely proud,? said Tech head coach Jean Hall. ?I was disappointed in our first day?s showing especially after the last two weeks of practice. I was very confident going into this tournament.

?I think it shows our guys that if they play well they can compete with anyone in the country. That?s always our goal; to play well and be in the hunt; to produce under pressure. We did that today and I was proud of all of them.?

Harvey won the individual medal at the event, bettering the field of 96 golfers with a three-round total of 209. Shepard finished tied for 23rd with a 219, followed by Corey Barlett (tied 28th, 220), Ryan Robertson (tied 61st, 226) and Amrith de Soysa (tied 70th, 228).

The Bulldogs also had three golfers playing as individuals in the event as Timothy Byrd finished tied for 13th with a 216, followed by Dustin Baker (tied for 23rd, 219) and Chad Bailey (tied for 73rd, 229).

Team Totals

1. Ole Miss 860
2. LSU 862
3. Louisiana Tech 863
4. Jacksonville State 864
5. UL-Lafayette 865
6. Arkansas State 867
7. Middle Tennessee 875
8. Charleston 881
9. UT-Arlington 882
10. New Orleans 883
11. Sam Houston 885
12. Southern Miss 891
13. Nevada 892
14. UALR 895
15. Nebraska 900
16. Rice 904
17. UL-Monroe 906
18. North Texas 907