Frazier Earns First Team All-State

Chrisstasia Walter

April 12, 2014

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech junior forward Whitney Frazier was voted first team all-state while teammate Chrisstasia Walter was named the Newcomer of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association in a vote of the state's media representatives and university media relations directors.

For the second consecutive year LSU forward Theresa Plaisance was named the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Women's Basketball Player of the Year.

LSU teammate Raigyne Moncrief was named the Freshman of the Year and Northwestern State coaches Brooke and Scott Stoehr were tabbed as the Coaches of the Year.

Frazier finished second overall in voting behind Plaisance, earning 337 points and receiving five votes for player of the year. The El Dorado, Arkansas native averaged 16.2 points and 9.8 rebounds per game while earning second team all-Conference USA honors this season. In seven games against in-state schools, Frazier averaged 15.7 points and 10.2 rebounds. In five games against LSU, Texas A&M, South Carolina, Virginia and Ole Miss, Frazier averaged 17.6 points and 7.6 rebounds.

Walter picked up the hardware as the state's newcomer of the year after earning 24 of the 30 votes for the award. She averaged 11.5 points, 6.1 rebounds, 5.6 assists and 2.9 steals per game for the Lady Techsters. She scored in double figures 17 times, including a career-high 32 in an overtime win over Tulsa. She had 10 assists three times, including vs. Top 10 Texas A&M.

Plaisance and Frazier were joined on the LSWA first team by McNeese State guard Allison Baggett (17.9 ppg, 3.6 rpg), Nicholls State guard Emani White (19.6 ppg, 3.6 rpg, 3.0 apg) and Northwestern State forward Trudy Armstead (14.4 ppg, 6.5 rpg).

The second team is comprised of Grambling State guard Joanna Miller (18.8 ppg, 5.2 rpg), Loyola forward Jasmine Brewer (13.5 ppg, 7.8 rpg), Tulane guard Jamie Kaplan (11.7 ppg, 6.8 apg), ULM forward Ashleigh Simmons (14.6 ppg, 7.7 rpg), and Southern guard Kendra Coleman (17.4 ppg, 3.4 rpg).



The third team consists of Xavier guard Whitney Gathright (12.2 ppg, 3.7 rpg, 3.2 apg), LSU guard Danielle Ballard (9.3 ppg, 6.1 rpg), LSU guard Jeanne Kenney (11.6 ppg, 3.7 rpg, 3.5 apg), Tulane guard Danielle Blagg (12.6 ppg, 4.9 rpg) and LSU-Shreveport forward Jenna Diakos (14.3 ppg, 8.0 rpg).

Plaisance picked up 19 of the 30 votes for player of the year after leading the LSU Tigers to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament for the second straight year. The senior averaged 15.6 points and 7.6 rebounds per game while being the only player in the SEC ranked in the Top 10 in points, rebounds, blocks and field goal percentage. She was named first team all-SEC (coaches) and second team all-SEC (media) while being a candidate for the Wade Trophy, Wooden Award and Senior CLASS Award.

Moncrief picked up 14 of the 30 votes for freshman of the year after averaging 10.2 points, 4.6 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. She scored a season-high 27 points against Rutgers in late November while earning the Barclay's Invitational MVP award and produced 14 double digit scoring games on the season.

Brooke and Scott Stoehr - the wife/husband coaching tandem at Northwestern State - earn their first ever LSWA Coach of the Year award after leading the Lady Demons to 21 wins and the program's first championship and postseason appearance in 10 years. The Demons 11 Southland Conference victories were the most by the program since 2004-05. Playing with three starters who had no other Division I offers, Northwestern State was tied with No. 1 seed Tennessee early in the second half of their NCAA Tournament game.

Seven student-athletes from across the state earned honorable mention accolades, including Northwestern State's Keisha Lee, LSU's Moncrief, Southeastern Louisiana's Aja Gibson, McNeese State's Cecilia Okoye, Tulane's Tiffany Dale, LA Tech's Walter and Southeastern's Nanna Pool.

First Team All-State

Theresa Plaisance, LSU -- (410 points)

15.6 ppg, 7.6 rpg, 1.4 bpg

Senior, Forward (New Orleans, La.)

Whitney Frazier, LA Tech -- (337 points)

16.2 ppg, 9.8 rpg

Junior, Forward (El Dorado, Ark.)

Allison Baggett, McNeese State -- (308 points)

17.9 ppg, 3.6 rpg

Sophomore, Guard (Iota, La.)

Emani White, Nicholls State -- (303 points)

19.6 ppg, 3.9 rpg, 3.0 apg

Sophomore, Guard (New Orleans, La.)

Trudy Armstead, Northwestern State -- (231 points)

14.4 ppg, 6.5 rpg

Senior, Forward (Dallas, Texas)

Second Team All-State

Joanna Miller, Grambling State -- (208 points)

18.8 ppg, 5.2 rpg

Senior, Guard (Los Angeles, Calif.)

Jasmine Brewer, Loyola (193 points)

13.5 ppg, 7.8 rpg

Senior, Forward (Houston, Texas)

Jamie Kaplan, Tulane -- (166 points)

11.7 ppg, 6.8 apg

Junior, Guard (Sebastian, Florida)

Ashleigh Simmons, ULM -- (149 points)

14.6 ppg, 7.7 rpg

Senior, Forward (Hawkins, Texas)

Kendra Coleman, Southern -- (139 points)

17.4 ppg, 3.4 rpg

Junior, Guard (Donaldsonville, La.)

Third Team All-State

Whitney Gathright, Xavier -- (124 points)

12.2 ppg, 3.7 rpg

Sophomore, Guard (New Orleans, La.)

Danielle Ballard, LSU -- (106 points)

9.3 ppg, 6.1 rpg

Sophomore, Guard (Memphis, Tenn.)

Jeanne Kenney, LSU -- (96 points)

11.6 ppg, 3.7 rpg

Senior, Guard (Baton Rouge, La.)

Danielle Blagg, Tulane -- (85 points)

12.6 ppg, 4.9 rpg

Junior, Guard (San Antonio, Texas)

Jeanna Diakos, LSU-Shreveport -- (70 points)

14.3 ppg, 8.0 rpg

Senior, Forward (Ragley, La.)

Honorable Mention: Keisha Lee (Northwestern State), Raigyne Moncrief (LSU), Aja Gibson (Southeastern Louisiana), Cecilia Okoye (McNeese State), Tiffany Dale (Tulane), Chrisstasia Walter (LA Tech), Nanna Pool (Southeastern Louisiana)

Player of the Year: Theresa Plaisance, LSU

(Plaisance 19, Emani White 6, Whitney Frazier 5)

Freshman of the Year: Raigyne Moncrief, LSU

(Moncrief 14, JaQuan Jackson 8, Kourtney Pennywell 3, Dennisha Chambers 3, Leslie Vorpahl 2)

Newcomer of the Year: Chrisstasia Walter, LA Tech

(Walter 24, Megan Whittaker 4, Vinnie Briggs 2)

Coach of the Year: Brooke/Scott Stoehr

(Stoehrs 17, Nikki Caldwell 7, Kellie Kennedy 3, Bo Browder 2, Sandy Pugh 1)


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205