Techsters Receive Awards at Banquet

More than 300 fans celebrated the 2009 WAC championship season with the Lady Techsters Wednesday night.
More than 300 fans celebrated the 2009 WAC championship season with the Lady Techsters Wednesday night.

April 16, 2009

RUSTON -- Louisiana Tech head coach Teresa Weatherspoon joined more than 300 fans Wednesday night for the annual Lady Techster Appreciation Banquet held at the Tech Student Center.

In addition to honoring a number of individual award winners, the event was a celebration of a successful season that saw Weatherspoon and Co. capture a share of the 2009 Western Athletic Conference title and earn an appearance in the Women's National Invitation Tournament.

The Lady Techsters posted a mark of 21-13 and knocked off Conference USA champion SMU in the first round of the post-season before falling to Illinois State, who a advanced all the way to the Final Four of the WNIT.

Among the guests in attendance for this year's banquet was former Lady Techster Debbie Primeaux Williamson, who was the featured speaker at the event.

Williamson was a member of the program from 1980 through 1984 and helped lead LA Tech to a pair of national championship titles in 1981 and 1982.

Williamson, who is now a professor at North Carolina State University and who has also worked as an NCAA basketball official for six seasons, spoke on the history, tradition and pride of being a part of one of the most storied programs in the history of the game.

Individual award winners during the evening included Shanavia Dowdell, Adrienne Johnson, Whitney Jones, Sidney Stewart and Shordy Mulford.

Dowdell received two pieces of hardware as she earned the Rebounding Award and the MVP Award after a stellar junior campaign that saw her average 16.1 points, 9.9 rebounds, 1.8 blocks and 1.2 steals per game while shooting 53 percent from the field, 59 percent from the free throw line and 36 percent from the three-point line.



Dowdell recorded a WAC-best 18 double doubles and scored in double figures 29 times, including a career-high 30 points against Western Kentucky.

Johnson earned Miss Offense after averaging 15.5 points, 7.1 rebounds, 1.7 steals and 1.4 blocks per game while shooting 47 percent from the field and 72 percent from the free throw line.

Johnson scored in double figures 27 times during the year while also recording a WAC-best 11 performances of 20-plus points during the season. She also registered seven double doubles.

Jones earned the tag of Miss Defense after a sophomore season that saw the 5-foot-7 guard receive the toughest perimeter defensive assignments on a nightly basis.

The West Monroe native averaged 13.3 points and 4.9 rebounds and ranked second on the team and among the WAC leaders with 51 steals on the season.

Mulford received the Lady Techster Award, which is given annually to the player who possesses the desired characteristics for student-athletes within the program. Despite playing limited minutes, the senior guard from West Valley City, Utah was the emotional leader and served as the heart and soul of the team this season.

For the second consecutive year, Stewart earned the Academic Award with her 3.41 grade point average in accounting. Stewart made the Dean's List both in the fall of 2008 and this winter despite the Lady Techsters busy travel schedule.

Stewart and Keshia Warren were also recognized for their inclusion on the Academic All-WAC team this season.