Team Awards Announced for Lady Techster Soccer

Dec. 6, 2012

RUSTON - After wrapping up a very successful season on the soccer field that included an 11-game unbeaten streak and a fourth place finish in the regular season WAC standings, Louisiana Tech coaches and players recently voted and announced end-of-season team awards.

Junior forward Emily Brennan took home both the Team Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year after leading the team in goals scored with seven, three of which were game-winning scores.

Her season highlight came against No. 19 ranked Denver when she netted the game-tying goal on a set piece with just two minutes remaining in regulation.

Freshman defender Mette Rudolfsen received the Defensive Player of the Year award after anchoring a backline that allowed only 15 goals on the season while recording 12 shutouts, both program records.

Junior midfielder Mia Schorpp earned Midfielder of the Year. Her highlights included playing all 110 minutes of a double overtime draw with Seattle and notching her lone goal of the season in a win over New Mexico State.

Freshman midfielder Brittany Beddow was chosen as Freshman of the Year after leading the team in points with 16 on six goals and four assists. She also took a team-high 49 shots on the season with 28 of those coming on goal.

Freshman midfielder Erica Stewart received the Most Improved Player award. She tied the program record for most assists in a single game with three versus Louisiana College. Stewart also netted three goals on the season, two of which were game-winners against SELU and McNeese State.

Senior defender Lindsay Brough earned the coveted Team Award which goes to the player who best reflects the team culture of service, passion, respect and fearless. This season she played the entire game 10 different times, including three that were double overtime matches.



For complete coverage of LA Tech Soccer, please follow @LATechSOC on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205