Kevin Sherry Named LSWA Coach of the Year

Emily Brennan was honored as LSWA Player of the Year

Dec. 19, 2012

RUSTON -- Louisiana Tech head soccer coach Kevin Sherry was honored as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Coach of the Year after leading his young Lady Techster team to a 12-5-4 record that included an 11-game unbeaten streak and a tie with No. 19 ranked Denver.

At the start of the season, Sherry was charged with replacing 17 players from last year's team and replaced the group with 16 freshmen and a sophomore transfer. After being picked in the preseason to finish last in the conference, the team responded with a fourth-place finish in the WAC, setting school records by allowing only 15 goals and recording 12 shutouts along the way.

"I am really humbled and appreciative [for the award]," said Sherry. "It wouldn't have been possible without such great players."

The 2012 LSWA All-Louisiana Collegiate Team was also highlighted by Lady Techster junior forward Emily Brennan who shared the Player of the Year honors with Southeastern Louisiana's senior goalkeeper Lacey Bockhaus.

Brennan, a native of Plano, Texas, was the state's standout offensive player as she was a second-team All-WAC selection who led LA Tech in goals scored with seven and had the game-tying goal in the 1-1 tie with Denver.

Joining Brennan on the LSWA first team were teammates Brittany Beddow and Mo Rockwell. Beddow, a freshman midfielder from Keller, Texas, finished the year with six goals and four assists, while Rockwell anchored the Louisiana Tech back line on the way to second team All-WAC honors.

Also garnering honorable mention honors for the Lady Techsters was freshman defender Mette Rudolfsen.

"I am very happy for Brittany, Mo, Emily and Mette," said Sherry. "It is indeed a great honor for them to be selected and I feel it is well deserved. I wish to thank all the sports writers who voted and appreciate wholeheartedly the recognition they have awarded these players and our program.



"The ladies have all fought so hard for the team and it just goes to show that hard work really does pay off in the end. I appreciate all our players for who they have become, not only as players but as people too. Brittany, Mo, Emily and Mette are all such great talents who have helped put Louisiana Tech soccer on the map. I hope and believe that many more will follow the path they have helped create."

Louisiana Tech and Southeastern Louisiana each placed a state-high three players on the All-Louisiana first team. LSU placed a pair of players on the first team, which was rounded out by players from Louisiana-Monroe, Nicholls State and LSU-Shreveport.

Eleven student-athletes received honorable mention recognition. The LSWA All-Louisiana Soccer Teams were selected by the state's sports information directors.

For complete coverage of LA Tech Soccer, please follow @LATechSOC on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at

2012 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Soccer Team

First Team Name - School - Cl. - Pos. -- Hometown Maiya Cooper - Southeastern Louisiana - Sr. - F - Hawthorne, Calif. Jade Kovacevic - LSU - Fr. - MF/D - Georgetown, Ontario, Canada Emily Brennan - Louisiana Tech - Jr. - F - Plano, Texas Brittany Beddow - Louisiana Tech - Fr. - MF - Keller, Texas Karlea Fehr - Louisiana-Monroe - Fr. - F - Lakewood, Colo. Spencer Valdespino - Nicholls State - Fr. - F - Spring Hill, Fla. Kayla Vera - Southeastern Louisiana - Fr. - F - Vancouver, Wash. Alex Arlitt - LSU - So. - MF - Houston, Texas Mo Rockwell - Louisiana Tech - Sr. - D - Salt Lake City, Utah Brooke Martin - LSU-Shreveport - Sr. - MF - San Antonio, Texas Lacey Bockhaus - Southeastern Louisiana - Sr. - GK - San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: (tie) Emily Brennan, Louisiana Tech and Lacey Bockhaus, Southeastern Louisiana Freshman of the Year: Kayla Vera, Southeastern Louisiana Newcomer of the Year: Jackie Strug, Northwestern State Coach of the Year: Kevin Sherry, Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention: Jackie Strug, Northwestern State; Ashlee Savona, Northwestern State; Kerry McWhirter, Southeastern Louisiana; Karly Dagys, Southeastern Louisiana; Taylor Bergeron, Louisiana College; Fernanda Pina, LSU; Mette Rudolfsen, Louisiana Tech; Sarah Lalanne, McNeese State; Brennan Moss, McNeese State; Megan Kinneman, LSU; Emily Breaux, Louisiana College.


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205