Goff Named State Newcomer of the Year



June 3, 2012

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech junior utility Melanie Goff was voted the Louisiana Sports Writers Association State Co-Newcomer of the Year by a panel of media and sports publicists while teammates Erin Kipp and Janna Frandrup joined her on the all-state team.

Goff earned first team all-state honors while Kipp was named second team and Frandrup earned honorable mention accolades on the postseason team which was dominated by UL-Lafayette.

Goff tied UL-Lafayette's Matte Haack for Newcomer of the Year after a junior season that saw her become only the second Lady Techster to ever record a .400 batting average, a .500 on-base percentage and a .600 slugging percentage in the same season. She became the first LA Tech softball player to ever earn the newcomer of the year award.

Goff, a San Diego, California native and a transfer from two-year Grossmont College, hit .409 with 22 RBIs during the season while setting a school and WAC Tournament record by scoring five times in a 17-7 victory against Fresno State. She was named first team all-state at the utility position after also earning first team all-Western Athletic Conference honors this year.

Kipp was voted second team all-state at the designated player position after a sophomore season that saw her bat .281 with three home runs and 19 RBI. The Bullard, Texas native also posted a 5-7 mark in the circle for the Lady Techsters. Kipp tied the program single game record (which was later broken in the season) with six RBI in a 10-1 win over Utah State during the regular season.

Frandrup earned honorable mention honors at first base after a junior season that saw her bat .277 with three home runs and 29 RBI. The Phoenix, Arizona native was the only Tech player to start all 58 games during the season and she ranked among the state, WAC and national leaders with 38 walks (and only 14 strikeouts) during the year.



UL-Lafayette placed a total of 10 players on the first and second teams, while claiming specialty honors for Hitter of the Year (Christi Orgeron), Freshman of the Year (Jordan Wallace), Co-Newcomer of the Year (Matte Haack) and Coach of the Year (Stefni and Michael Lotief). LSU's Rachele Fico was named the Pitcher of the Year.