@LATechSB Tufi Named All-State

June 8, 2014

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech freshman Pauline Tufi was named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association all-state collegiate softball team released by the LSWA on Sunday.

Tufi earned first team accolades as the utility player after seeing time in the circle and at first base during her rookie campaign in Ruston.

The Anchorage, Alaska native batted .281 on the season with 43 hits, including 10 doubles, one triple and four home runs. Tufi set a Louisiana Tech freshman single season record with 34 RBI during the year while also scoring 16 runs. She was 3-for-4 in stolen bases and led the team with 67 total bases.

She collected her first career home run against Big 12 champion Oklahoma and also belted a game-winning two-run home run in a 3-2 road win over Stephen F. Austin. Tufi registered a career-high six RBI in a 7-0 win over Southern Miss.

In the circle, Tufi registered a 13-10 record with a 3.43 earned run average. She logged 140.2 innings of work, allowing 134 hits and 56 walks while totaling 113 strikeouts. Tufi recorded complete-game shutouts over Florida Atlantic and Southern Miss.

Tufi also earned Conference USA All-Freshman Team honors.

UL-Lafayette's Lexie Elkins became the first player in 29 years to earn two of the major awards in the same season, earning the Hitter and the Newcomer of the Year awards.

A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel of media and sports publicists selected the All-Louisiana team, based on statistics and performances through the teams' conference tournaments.

UL Lafayette became the first school to sweep Hitter of the Year and Pitcher of the Year in consecutive seasons. The Cajuns' Christina Hamilton, 24-2 with four saves and a 1.55 ERA, won the pitching award.

For the second straight year, LSU has the Freshman of the Year as designated player Sahvanna Jaquish hit .335 and led the Tigers with 13 homers, 48 RBI and a .646 slugging percentage.



For the first time since 1999, two schools share Coach of the Year. McNeese State's Mike Smith and LSU-Alexandria's Charlie Zeilman earned the honor for the first time in their careers.


Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Email: techtickets@latech.edu
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205