LA Tech's Godwin Earns C-USA Spirit of Service Award

June 11, 2014

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech junior outfielder Janine Godwin was one of only 16 student-athletes from Conference USA to earn the C-USA Spring Spirit of Service Award which was announced by league commissioner Britton Banowsky today.

The C-USA Spirit of Service Award is designed to recognize the community service efforts of the league's student-athletes, based upon significant community service, good academic standing and participation in their elected sport.

The Spirit of Service award is presented three times throughout the season, with these honorees representing Conference USA's spring sports: baseball, golf, women's rowing, softball, tennis, and outdoor track and field. Rice senior baseball player Andrew Murphy is a repeat winner, earning this award in 2012.

Godwin is the SAAC representative for softball and was responsible for maintaining the LA Tech SAAC social media sites. Outside of her SAAC volunteer activities, Godwin participated in the volunteerism efforts of the Lady Techster program throughout the year. She has a great interest and passion for promoting and coordinating volunteer activities and has been one of the biggest assets in getting the word out about service events and activities to other student-athletes.

A native of Princeton, Texas, Goodwin had a breakout year on the diamond for the Lady Techsters, earning a starting position in right field and becoming one of Tech's most consistent offensive threats and best defensive players. After seeing limited playing time her first two seasons, Godwin earned 41 starts this year, recording a .265 batting average with 10 extra base hits. She also led all LA Tech outfielders in defensive assists with five.

Godwin joined other C-USA student-athletes as recipients of the award, including: Patric King, Charlotte (Baseball), Devan Murphy, East Carolina (Women's Golf), Aramis Garcia, FIU (Baseball), Danielle Aromashodu, Florida Atlantic (Women's Track & Field), Karli Timko, Marshall (Women's Tennis), Laura Dukes, Middle Tennessee (Softball), Franziska Sprinkmeyer, North Texas (Women's Tennis), Lauren Wright, Old Dominion (Women's Rowing), Andrew Murphy, Rice (Baseball), Mackenzie Sher, Southern Miss (Softball), Emily Dvorak, Tulane (Women's Tennis), Brooke Helmberger, Tulsa (Women's Rowing), Rachel Daniell, UAB (Women's Tennis), Janice Jackson, UTEP (Women's Track & Field) and Megan Low, UTSA (Softball).




Happening Now

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Learfield sponsor logo


Louisiana Tech Mission Statement header

Louisiana Tech University Athletics Mission is to embody excellence in everything we do.

Develop student-athletes to maximize their potential in mind, body and spirit.

Bring pride, admiration and loyalty to the University family, community and state.

Win with integrity.

Louisiana Tech University header

Tier 1 National University
#1 In Nation
Least average amount of student debt at graduation - Public National Universities
#1 In Louisiana
  • Highest average mid-career salaries for graduates
  • Providing graduates with highest % ROI on their college education
  • Low-cost colleges with highest starting salaries for graduates.
  • Ticketmaster logo

    : @LATechTickets
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F
    Phone: (318) 257-3631
    Fax: (318) 257-4437
    Mailing Address: PO Box 3046, Ruston, LA 71272
    Shipping Address: 1650 West Alabama, Ruston, LA 71270
    Location: Thomas Assembly Center Concourse Level Room 205