Lady Techsters Down Southeastern Louisiana 5-2

Anna Zurek has won three-straight singles matches
Anna Zurek has won three-straight singles matches

Feb. 19, 2012

Final Stats

HAMMOND, La. – Finishing up a weekend road trip to the southern portion of the state, the Louisiana Tech tennis team defeated Southeastern Louisiana 5-2 Sunday afternoon at the SLU Tennis Complex.

The Lady Techsters improve to 4-2 on the year while the Lions drop to 1-1.

The team of senior Maartje de Wit and junior Vivian ten Dolle started the day off with an easy 8-1 win over Adriana Castillo and Laura Verges in the No. 2 doubles match.

After Southeastern Louisiana won the No. 3 doubles matchup, the pairing of seniors Elne Barnard and Anna Zurek picked up the doubles point for Tech with an 8-5 victory at the No. 1 position.

In the singles competition, Barnard defeated Castillo at the No. 3 spot (7-5, 6-2) to improve to 5-1 on the season while Zurek won in two sets (7-6 (7-4), 6-2) at No. 6 over Marion Courbis.

The Lions cut the Lady Techsters advantage to 3-2 with wins in the No. 1 and 2 matches.

Freshman Maria Coronel dropped the first set of her match in the No. 4 spot to Morgane Dadot but came back to win the match in three-sets (2-6, 6-2, 6-4) to seal the victory for Tech.

With the contest in hand, junior Alena Erofeyeva went three-sets against Morgane Charpenne for the victory (6-4, 5-7, 6-3) as Erofeyeva remains undefeated in the spring at 6-0.

LA Tech returns home to face Texas-Pan American at 12 p.m. Saturday afternoon at the Lady Techsters Tennis Complex.

Louisiana Tech 5 – Southeastern Louisiana 2
1. Audrey Chelini (SLU) def. Laura Fernandez (LATECH) 7-5, 6-1
2. Laura Verges (SLU) def. Vivian ten Dolle (LATECH) 6-3, 7-6 (7-4)
3. Elne Barnard (LATECH) def. Adriana Castillo (SLU) 7-5, 6-2
4. Maria Coronel (LATECH) def. Morgane Dadot (SLU) 2-6, 6-2, 6-4
5. Alena Erofeyeva (LATECH) def. Morgane Charpenne (SLU) 6-4, 5-7, 6-3
6. Anna Zurek (LATECH) def. Marion Courbis (SLU) 7-6 (7-4), 6-2
1. Elne Barnard/Anna Zurek (LATECH) def. Morgane Charpenne/Morgane Dadot (SLU) 8-5
2. Maartje de Wit/Vivian ten Dolle (LATECH) def. Adrianna Castillo/Laura Verges (SLU) 8-1
3. Audrey Chelini/Marion Courbis (SLU) def. Alena Erofeyeva/Laura Fernandez (LATECH) 8-5