Barnard Named LSWA Newcomer of the Year

Elne Barnard
Elne Barnard

May 29, 2011

RUSTON - Louisiana Tech junior Elne Barnard was named the Louisiana Sports Writers Association State Newcomer of the Year Sunday.

Barnard earned the award as voted on by state SIDs and media members after recording a 14-14 record this year for the Lady Techsters in single matches while playing the No. 1 slot for the team during of the year.

The Port Elizabeth, South Africa native helped guide the LA Tech tennis team to its first winning season in 15 years.

In doubles competition, Barnard was 21-10 overall, including a 12-7 record in dual matches.

ULM senior Claire Clark was named the top player on the 2011 Louisiana Sports Writers Association college tennis team while ULM head coach Terrance De Jongh was named the Coach of the Year.


Claire Clark, ULM/Sr./Bossier City, La.

Martina Rubesova, Northwestern State/Jr./Ustinad Laben, Czech Republic

Julie Mazinova, Louisiana-Lafayette/Sr./Pilsen, Czech Republic

Letha Gaigher, ULM/Fr./Durbanville, S. Africa

Ebie Wilson, LSU/So./Mobile, Ala.

Emma Levy, Tulane/So./Princeton Junction, N.J.

Player of the Year - Claire Clark, ULM

Freshman of the Year - Letha Gaigher, ULM

Newcomer of the Year - Elne Barnard, Louisiana Tech

Coach of the Year - Terrence De Jongh, ULM


Vivian Polak, ULM; Whitney Wolf, LSU; Carlista Mohammed, Southern; Andrea Nedorostova, Northwestern State; Audrey Chelini, Southeastern Louisiana; Amber Garza, UNO; Monica Winkel, ULM.