Phillips Named to First Team All-LSWA


Posted Dec 16, 2007 00:15:18

Phillips Named to First Team All-LSWA

BATON ROUGE -- Tech senior Shannon Phillips has been named to the All-Louisiana Sports Writers Association first team after her 2007 season.

The LSWA All-Louisiana volleyball team was selected by sports information representatives from the state's 14 volleyball-playing institutions from nominations submitted by the volleyball contacts at those schools. Two six-member teams, plus two liberos, with honorable mention selections were chosen from those nominations.

Phillips started every match for the Techsters this season and was named to the Louisiana Tech Lady Techster Invitational All-Tournament team and the 2007 Mizuno All-Tournament team. She also led the team in kills per game at 4.14 while finishing with 14 double-doubles for the season.

This past season, Phillips tied her career-high with 30 kills against Central Arkansas and finished with over 20 kills on seven separate occasions. She is now ranked third all-time in total kills in a career.

2007 LSWA All-Louisiana Selections
First Team
Name Position Class School Hometown
Lauren DeGirolamo Middle Blocker Sophomore LSU Belleville, Ill.
Jen Linder Middle Blocker Junior Tulane Austin, Texas
Shannon Phillips Middle Blocker Senior Louisiana Tech Rowlett, Texas
Sara Radosevic Outside Hitter Junior Tulane Zagreb, Croatia
Ksenija Vlaskovic Outside Hitter Sophomore Tulane Pozarevac, Serbia
Kyna Washington Outside Hitter Junior LSU Houston, Texas
Elena Martinez Libero Junior LSU New Orleans, La.

Second Team
Name Position Class School Hometown
Ena Payne Outside Hitter Junior Southern Breaux Bridge, La.
Lindsey Boler Outside Hitter Senior New Orleans Destrehan, La.
Brittnee Cooper Middle Blocker Sophomore LSU Houston, Texas
Mary Seals Outside Hitter Junior Loyola Austin, Texas
Marina Skender Outside Hitter Junior LSU Zagreb, Croatia
Bridget Wells Right Side Junior Tulane Raleigh, N.C.
Tiffany Stafford Libero Senior Loyola Gretna, La.

Honorable Mention: Amie Goodwin, Louisiana-Lafayette; Talon Morgan, Grambling State; Sarah Cartie, McNeese State; Lakenya Simpson, Southern University; Candace Southall, Southern University

Player of the Year: Sara Radosevic, Tulane
Defensive Player of the Year: Elena Martinez, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Amie Goodwin, Louisiana-Lafayette
Coach of the Year: Liz Kritza, Tulane